h1

30 Days of Kink: Day 3

July 3, 2014

Day 3: How did you discover you were kinky?

I don’t think there was any one “light bulb” type moment, just a gradual realization that my sexual desires might be a bit on the unconventional side (although I like vanilla sex too). Perhaps the most telling sign was how much I enjoyed it when there was an kind of implication of bondage or any kind of passionate sexuality with overtones of roughness in a movie or TV show.

A bit later, I discovered all sorts of interesting things on the internet. I was born in 1983, so I grew up with the internet (one of the first 1000 Napster users – how’s that for nerd cred?). And while I’m not sure exactly how I first came across it, I found Literotica’s message boards and it all became clear from there, although I didn’t truly explore until several years later.

I was (and am) fortunate to have lovers who also wanted to explore as well, which made it easy to try new things and experiment with different toys, fetishes, and roles.

 

One comment

  1. The biggest revelation for me wasn’t that I was kinky… I always knew that. What has been such a lighting bolt of freedom and liberation has been the realization of how many OTHERS are kinky. Of the women I’ve dated within the past 5 years, well over 2/3rds have shared and escalated my desires/experience. I am grateful that I have had the opportunity to realize that I’m not “weird”, that we’re all animals and most everybody has these desires. It’s wonderful that we live in a time when embracing these desires is accepted and encouraged, and not repressed as it has been so often in the past.



Leave a Reply

